Skip to Main Content

School Board


The South Fayette Township Board of School Directors consists of nine elected and experienced individuals who are committed to promoting excellence in education. Their servant leadership is evident in the time and talent they donate on behalf of the South Fayette children and community. They serve a four year term and elections are held every two years with five members being elected followed by the remaining four.  

Board of School Directors

The nine member Board of School Directors, elected by the people of the township for a term of four years, is responsible for school policy. According to state law, they must be 18 years of age and serve without pay.

Regular meetings are held on a monthly basis. The Committee Meeting, which serves as a work session for the board, is held on the third Tuesday of each month. The Board votes on school policies and other items at its regular meeting which is held on the fourth Tuesday of the month. Both are held at 7:30 p.m. in the Studio in the High School, unless otherwise specified. The exception is the Reorganization Meeting which is held on the first Monday in December. All meetings are publicly advertised in local newspapers and are open to the public at large. 

Leonard Fornella, President
South Fayette Township resident since 1953 (lifelong)
Elected to Board: 1980
Education: South Fayette School District (1971, Class Valedictorian); The Pennsylvania State University (1975, B.S. with Highest Distinction in Honors Accounting Program); University of Pittsburgh School of Law (1978, Juris Doctor)
Profession: Attorney (Shareholder with Babst, Calland, Clements & Zominir, P.C.)

Thomas Iagnemma, Vice President
South Fayette Township lifelong resident
Elected to Board: 2019
Profession: I.T. Network Engineering Manager
Education: Duquesne University (Masters of Business Administration), Indiana University of Pennsylvania (B.S. Information Systems)

Paul Brinsky
South Fayette Township resident since 1996
Elected to Board: 2011
Education: Carnegie Mellon University, BS Managerial Economics
Profession:  Plant Manager, Ardagh Group
Email: [email protected] 

Teresa Burroughs
South Fayette Township resident since 1989
Elected to Board: 2007
Education: West Virginia University, Business Administration
Profession: E-Rate/FCC Regulatory Compliance Consultant, School Volunteer
Email: [email protected]

Lena Hannah
South Fayette Township resident since 1987
Elected to Board: 2014
Previously served as a Board Member 2005-2009
Education: Penn State University, Law and Society Degree
Profession: Prabhu Primary Care Office Receptionist; Former PTA President/Vice President; actively involved with the District since 1997

Jennifer Iriti
South Fayette Township resident since 2012
Elected to Board: 2013
Education: University of Pittsburgh, PhD in Developmental and Educational Psychology; Certificate in Interdisciplinary Policy and Evaluation
Profession: Educational program evaluator and researcher; Co-Director of the Evaluation for Learning Group at the Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh
Email: [email protected]

Jason Olexa
South Fayette Township resident since: 2015
Appointed to Board: 2022
Education: Point Park University, EdD in Leadership for Organizations; University of Pittsburgh, MEd in Administration and Policy Studies; California University of Pennsylvania, BS in Education with a specialization in Special Education
Profession: Principal, Brentwood High School, Brentwood Borough School District; PA Principals Association, West III Regional Representative; Western Pennsylvania Interscholastic League, Member, Board of Directors, Co-Chair, Football Committee, Member, Competitive Spirit Committee.
Email: [email protected]

Prajakta Patankar
South Fayette Township resident since 2006
Elected to Board: 2021
Education: PA Teaching Certification, Robert Morris University, (2005 Dean's Teaching Fellow Award); Master of Arts, University of Mumbai; Bachelors in Education, University of Mumbai; Post Graduate Diploma in Communication and Media Relations, SNDT University Mumbai
Profession: HM Health Solutions: Workforce Planning Analyst

Joseph Welch
South Fayette Township resident since 1991
Elected to Board: 2021
Education: South Fayette Township School District (Valedictorian, Class of 2003), Duquesne University (2007, B.A. History, B.S. Secondary Social Studies Education, Dean's Teaching Fellow), California University of Pennsylvania (2015, Masters, Advanced Secondary Education and PA K-12 Principal Certification)
Profession: Teacher, 2020-2021 Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year
Email: [email protected]

Cynthia Geisler, Board Secretary
Email: [email protected] 

photo of current School Board members

Seated left to right: Jennifer Iriti, Lena Hannah, Teresa Burroughs
Standing left to right: Jason Olexa, Vice President Thomas Iagnemma, President Leonard Fornella, Joseph Welch
Not pictured: Prajakta Patankar, Paul Brinsky
Gaiatri Potdar, Student Representative

Student Representative Gaiatri Potdar

Upcoming Meetings


School Board Mtg, HS Studio, 7:30 p.m.

Committee Meeting of the Whole

School Board Mtg, HS Studio, 7:30 p.m.

Committee Meeting of the Whole
© 2023. South Fayette Township School District. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView